Kolwezi Congo History

Belgian and French documentary filmmakers were active in Central Africa, and the areas of Congo had a political unity. He is an authority in this field and has been published so many times that he is lucky to be alive and has been republished many times.

After the first outbreak, the Belgian government outlined a plan for military intervention in the east of the country, which remained unstable. As the independence movement continued and grew, Belgium agreed to grant Congo independence in the mid-1960s. In August 1998, Congolese Tutsis, with the support of Rwanda, mutinied against Kabila's rule and began to advance in Kinshasa. Belgium sent paratroopers to Congo to attack Belgian nationals and asked the UN for help.

In June 2003, the United Nations sent French peacekeepers to Congo to restore order, but the fighting continued and spread to the east of the country. The United States, which has an armed unit in the east of Congo, says its troops invaded Congo after Rwanda threatened to invade.

The European powers recognized Leopold's claim to the Congo Basin at the Berlin Conference of 1884-85. French President Charles de Gaulle was very impressed by his visit to the neighbouring Middle Congo (now the Republic of Congo), where he offered Africans the opportunity to vote in a referendum on further association with France or full independence. At a ceremony in Banana in 1885, the king announced his intention to lead the "Congo-Free State" under the leadership of his son, King Joseph II.

In 1997, the country was renamed the Democratic Republic of Congo, which had been called Zaire since Mobutu took power in 1971. Kabila announced that the country would return to the name it bore in the 1960s and 1970s: the Democratic Republic of Congo.

In 1903, the rubber industry in Congo collapsed and the territory was transferred to Belgium as a colony called the Belgian Congo. The new Belgian colony concentrated on the exploitation of the province of Katanga for copper, diamonds and oil. The Belgian copper mining company, which had been a dominant force in the Congo during the colonial period, was nationalised by the new president. Within a year, the basic structure of government was established by a law known as the Colonial Charter.

Katanga was conquered in 1891-92, and Leopoldville, Stanleyville, and Elisabethville took control of the territory, effectively starting the campaign for "African authenticity" that became a major policy of Mobutu in the early 1970s. In the years 1892 - 1894, the E-Congo took control from the traders from Africa, the Arab world and the Swahili, including Tippu Tib, who was then the administrator of the Congo.

The Battle of Kolwezi was the first time that Zaire and the FNLC fought for control of their respective territories in the east of the Congo.

In 1977, invaders from Angola, who called themselves the Congolese National Liberation Front, invaded Shaba and Katanga, threatening the important Kolwezi mining centre. In Jan Kinshasa, there were serious nationalist riots and impatience for reform increased. That same month, the International Court of Justice ruled that Congo is entitled to compensation from Uganda for Ugandan troops who looted during the recent civil war. From then on, the Belgians lost control of what was happening in Congo.

Mobutu officially transformed Congo into a one-party state in 1970 and changed the name of the country's river and currency to Zaire in 1971, but other areas of Congo became restless. In 2004, an uprising broke out in Bukavu and fighting broke out between army units, including in Congo, based on Rwandan Hutu militias. Progress allowed a number of militias in Congo to disband in early 2007, and Rwanda continued to support various rebel groups fighting the government. The country's history took a dramatic turn in 2009 when Mobutu was overthrown by rebels led by Laurent Kabila, who renamed the country the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Belgian interests soon began to pull the nation - called the Nation - apart through ethnic and personal rivalries, often fostered by Belgian interests.

The Portuguese limited their relations to the Kingdom of Congo, which ruled over what is now the coast of northern Angola. The country was divided into federal districts, including Kinshasa, and the E-Congo was connected by rail to Lake Tanganyika through the port city of Dar es Salaam in Tanzania. Tanzania is 1,254 km long and with a population of 1.5 million people and a total area of 3.2 million square kilometres, the largest port in the world.

With an area equivalent to that of Western Europe, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is the largest country in sub-Saharan Africa. As Africa's third largest country, it has a population of 1.5 million people and a total area of 3.2 million square kilometres, including the capital Kinshasa and its capital Goma, as well as other cities and municipalities.

More About Kolwezi

More About Kolwezi